Board of Trustees


Board of Trustees



Shelly Simonds, Board Chair Dr. Jeffery Smith,                                         Superintendent-In-Charge
Newport News Public Schools Hampton City Public Schools 757-727-2000
James Kelly, Vice Chair   Dr. Walter R. Clemons
Williamsburg/JCC Schools Gloucester County Public Schools 804-693-5300
Elisa Nelson   Brian Nichols, Acting Superintendent
Gloucester County Public Schools Newport News Public Schools 757-591-4500
Reginald Woodhouse   Dr. Jennifer Parish
Hampton City Public Schools Poquoson Public Schools 757-868-3055
Michelle Sheeler   Dr. Olwen Herron
Poquoson City Public Schools Williamsburg/JCC Public Schools 757-603-6400
Robert W. George D.D.S.   Dr. Victor Shandor
York County School Division York County School Division 757-898-0300

Board of Trustees hold six (6) regular board meetings yearly.

Board of Trustees Meetings

The next Board of Trustees meeting is scheduled for January 23, 2018 at 5:30 P.M. at the Butler Farm Campus.

The 2017-2018 Board of Trustees Meeting Schedule.

New Horizons’ Board welcomes input from the public and provides an opportunity for public comments at the beginning of each meeting. Speakers wishing to address the Board must complete a speaker card and return it to the Clerk of the Board prior to the start of the meeting (speaker cards are available upon entering the meeting). Individuals will be recognized by the Clerk of the Board in the order the cards were received. Comments are limited to three-minutes.

If you have any questions regarding New Horizons’ Board of Trustees, please contact Angela Standley, Clerk of the Board at 757-766-0000 or by email at

Board Books

2017-2018 Board Documents
May 22, 2018
March 27, 2018
January 23, 2018
December 19, 2017
October 24, 2017
August 29, 2017

2016-2017 Board Documents
May 23, 2017       Adopted 2017-2018 Budget
March 28, 2017
January 24, 2017
December 20, 2016
October 25, 2016
August 20, 2016